This site is intended for health professionals only

Pharmacy technicians of the year awards 2008


The Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK is pleased to announce the winners of the Pharmacy Technicians of the Year Awards 2008. These awards are sponsored by AAH Hospital Service.

The Pharmacy Technician of the Year Supply Chain Award for 2008 has been won by Diane Meech, Pharmacy Technician, Medical Gases, Ealing NHS Trust, for her submission “The safe supply of medical gases – how can a pharmacy technician be involved?”

The Pharmacy Technician of the Year Clinical Award for 2008 has been won by Jennifer Luker, Senior Haematology Pharmacy Technician, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust for her submission “Improving patient care by implementing new services (clinical).”

A new award, The Pharmacy Technician of the Year Professional Award has been introduced this year to recognise a pharmacy technician who has made an outstanding contribution to the profession. Several excellent nominations were received and the award has been won by Staff Sergeant Richard Chapple, Regional Pharmacy Technician, Army Primary Health Care Services, Eastern Region, Colchester.

The winners of the Supply Chain and Clinical Awards will present their work and all winners will receive their awards at the APTUK national conference in Cardiff in June.

The judges of the Awards were impressed with the high quality of the submissions and nominations and spent a considerable time in the adjudication process.

The Awards were established in 1997 to promote the important role of the pharmacy technician in developing and improving pharmacy services and to encourage forward thinking and innovation. AAH Hospital Service is delighted to continue to be involved with these awards.

The Association of Pharmacy Technicians UK

Be in the know
Subscribe to Hospital Pharmacy Europe newsletter and magazine